New Inbox FAQs

 

How do I access my inbox?

Visit contribute.viki.com and click on your icon on the right-hand corner of the screen. A drop-down menu will appear. Click Messages and this will open your inbox.

Screen_Shot_2020-03-11_at_9.18.02_AM.png

How do I view my new messages?

Be sure to refresh the page to view any new messages. Incoming messages will not appear in real-time.

There are two methods to refresh your messages:

1. Refresh the entire page by clicking the refresh icon on your browser, or:

  • For Windows users, press the Ctrl + F5 keys on your keyboard
  • For Mac users, press the ⌘ command + R key on your keyboard

2. Click on another message thread and return to the previous thread

The inbox can display a reminder how to refresh your messages. Screen_Shot_2020-03-11_at_9.12.01_AM.png

How do I add a new line within a message?

To create a new line within a message and not send it yet, press "shift + enter" and continue writing your message.

How do I turn on/off email notifications for new inbox messages?

Method 1:

  1. You can turn email notifications on or off by clicking on the gear icon, on the left-hand side.Click on the gear (cog) icon
  2. A settings pop-up window will open. Use the toggle to turn on or off your email notifications.
    Toggle option for settings
  3. When you are done, click the “X” in the upper-right corner of the pop-up window to close it.

Method 2:

  1. Visit your Subscription & Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Manage Notifications section.
    message_notifications_img.png
  3. Use the toggle to turn on or off your email notifications.
When will I receive email notifications for new messages?

You will receive email notifications for every message received:

  • If you have specifically muted a chat, you will not receive email notifications for that chat/thread.
What HTML formatting can I use in private messages?

At this time, the messaging system does not support basic HTML formatting. This will be incorporated in future phases of the inbox. Please note that links sent will be rendered clickable.

How do I add recipient(s) to a message?
  1. Start a new message by clicking + New Message
  2. In the Add recipient field, type in the username you would like to write a message to.
  3. Click the Add button next to the username. Or, hit the Enter key on your keyboard. Valid usernames will be added.
    Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.33.09_PM.png

  4. If you would like to add additional usernames, you may do so as well.

*Note: If you input an invalid username you will not be able to add them to the message. You will see an error message stating, “We can’t find [username].”

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.33.18_PM.png
In the Add recipient field, type in the username(s) you would like to write a message to. Then, hit your Enter key, or click the Add button that appears next to the username. Valid usernames will be added. If an invalid username is input, you will not be able to add them to the message.

Note: You may add up to 99 usernames in 1 message.

What are the message and subject line character limits?

Subject line: 72 characters

Message body: 2000 characters

Is there a limit to the number of recipient(s) that can be included in one message?

A maximum of 99 recipients can be included in a message (Total 100 including yourself). This will create a group message with everyone.

For channel managers and/or moderators, please note that if you send a mass message to a channel team with over 99 members, the message will be split into multiple group messages. For example, a group message sent to 250 people means that 3 separate group messages will be sent out.

What is the Announcements tab?

Any official messages from Viki staff accounts will appear on this tab. Please note that you cannot reply to messages that appear in this tab. To send a message to a staff member, please use your Messages tab.

How do I view all members in a group message?

There are 2 methods to view members in a message.

Method 1:

  1. In the message thread you would like to check, click on the Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.40.05_PM.png  located in the right-hand corner of the message thread window.
  2. A dropdown menu will open. Click View all members.
  3. A pop-up will appear showing all the message participants. 

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.40.40_PM.png

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.40.46_PM.png

Method 2: 

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.41.53_PM.png

  1. In the message thread you would like to check, type “/who” into the message field and click Send
  2. A pop-up will appear showing all the message participants.  

*Note: Method 2 only works in existing message threads. It will not work if you are starting a new message

Am I removed from a group message when I click Delete conversation ?

Yes, you will be removed from the group message and it will be deleted from your inbox. You will not receive any further messages or notifications for this group message.

How do I add emoji to a message?
  1. In the message thread you would like to add emoji, type “/emoji” into the message field and click Send.

    Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.44.11_PM.png

  2. A window will appear where you can select emoji.

    Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.44.18_PM.png

  3. The emoji selection window will minimize after you send the message. Or, to close the emoji window, press the Esc key on your keyboard.

*Note: Emoji menu will appear only on existing message threads. It will not work if you are starting a new message.

How do I mute a group message?

*Note: Muting a group message means you still will get messages, just not notifications for them. This includes email notifications about this specific group messages.

1. Click on the 3 dots button of the group message
3dot_button.jpg

2. Click on the option labeled "Mute conversation"
mute_chat.jpg

How do I leave a group message?

There are 2 methods for leaving a group message.

Method 1:

  1. In the message thread you would like to leave, click on the located in the right-hand corner of the message thread window.
  2. A dropdown menu will open. Click Delete conversation.
  3. A confirmation window will appear. Click the Delete button to confirm.
  4. You will be removed from the group message and the conversation will be deleted from your inbox. You will not receive any further messages or notifications for this group message.

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.45.47_PM.png

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.45.42_PM.png

Method 2:

  1. In the message thread you would like to leave, type “/delete” into the message field and click Send
  2. A confirmation window will appear. Click the Delete button to confirm.
  3. You will be removed from the group message and the conversation will be deleted from your inbox.
  4. You will be removed from the group message and the conversation will be deleted from your inbox. You will not receive any further messages or notifications for this group message.

Screen_Shot_2020-03-18_at_3.45.55_PM.png

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 6 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.